Our Musicians

Musicians of the Illinois Symphony Orchestra, 2023-2024 Season Roster

* Denotes Musician on leave during the 2023-2024 season.

Artistic Advisor

Ken Lam Artistic Advisor


Jacobsen Woollen ISO Associate Conductor and ISYO Conductor

Violin I

Roy Meyer Concertmaster

Sponsored by Debra & Daniel Brownstone, M.D.

Sheena Lan Associate Concertmaster

Sponsored by Carole & Jerry Ringer

Karen C. Collier First Assistant Concertmaster

Sponsored by Judie Bey

Michael Barta Second Assistant Concertmaster

Corina Lobont

Sponsored by Ms. Sandy Bellatti

Nathan Banks

Jane E. Polett

Sponsored by Paul & Sandra Harmon

Carmen Abelson

Sponsored by Susie Shackleton & Pat Dennis

Pin-Hsuan Chen

Violin II

Alex Norris Principal

Ion-Alexandru Malaimare Associate Principal

Sponsored by Terry Huff

Chenoa Murphy*

Sponsored by Drs. Jerry & Ann Joseph and Jay & Sue Edmondson

Yu Xin

Courtney Silver

Sponsored by Dennis & Marilyn Lawler

Matthew Weinberg

Sponsored by Leroy Wehrle

Hannah Cartwright


Erin Rafferty* Principal

Sponsored by William R. Zimmer, M.D.

Roslyn Green* Associate Principal

Lisa Nelson

Sponsored by Mark & Julie Staley

Karen R. Frost

Sponsored by Dr. & Mrs. Richard T. McDaniel

Rachel Sompong

Sponsored by Elaine Cousins

Diane Wuthrich

Christine Bock

Sponsored by Chris & Larry Eggan


Nomin Zolzaya Principal

Sponsored by Gerry & Carol Chrisman

Amy Catron* Associate Principal

Yunjin Ro

Sponsored by Kathy Hoffmann

Sarah Hansen*

Jingjing Hu


Nicholas Adams* Principal Bass

Sponsored by Alan & Marty Stutz

David Chapman-Orr Associate Principal

Sponsored by Richard & Phyllis Cheaney

Andrew Tinge

Sponsored by Dennis & Linda Steele

John Anderson

Andrew Chilcote


Kimberly McCoul Risinger Principal

Sponsored by Ann Evans

Amanda Pond

Sponsored by Kathy & Milt Sees


Russell Hoffman* Principal Oboe

Ann Homann

Sponsored by Dr. Noël Kerr

Erin Mashinter English Horn


Dana Hotle Principal

Amanda Hudnall

Sponsored by Phares O'Daffer

Madison Freed Bass Clarinet


Timothy McGovern Principal

Ben Roidl-Ward

Sponsored by Carolyn & Rich Berning

Michael H. Dicker Contrabassoon

Sponsored by Carolyn & Duane Yockey


Brian Goodwin Principal

Sponsored by Kathryn Ransom & Mary Anne Elson

Thomas Vienna

Sponsored by J. Anthony Nelson

Brad Granville

Anna Mayne

Sponsored by Dr. Patricia & Mr. Randall Rushing

Jessica Pearce Assistant/Utility Horn


Amy Gilreath Principal

Tim McCoul

Apollo Lee

Sponsored by Peggy Hundley


Stephen Parsons Principal

Sponsored by Jerry & Carole Ringer

Kevin R. Dombrowski

Sponsored by George & Mary Lou Farnsworth

Robert Kastner Bass Trombone

Sponsored by Brenda & Harlan Geiser


Mark Moore Principal


David Collier Principal


Andrew Cierny Principal

Sponsored by Sandra Robinson, in honor of Don Robinson

Jeremy Brunk

Sponsored by Dr. Victoria Nichols Johnson


Eleanor Kirk Principal

Sponsored by Deanie Brown, in memory of Arice Brown


Open Position Principal Keyboard

Stage Manager

Joe Taylor

Sponsored by Dr. Judith Everson


Bethany Freesen

Sponsored by Dr. Patricia & Mr. Randall Rushing

Get Involved with Illinois Symphony

Our patrons, donors, and sponsors are a large part of what makes our orchestra great and our concerts successful! If you'd like to take part in making a difference for our orchestra, click the button below to learn more. Thank you!